← Luxury Hotel Guide

Whistler, British Columbia

Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Research summary — no rating

Dogs stay for $50 a night and arrive to a bed, bowls and kibble, and the hotel keeps a resident dog of its own. They are barred from every restaurant here, the pool deck and the Gold lounge — and whether a dog may be left alone in the room is never stated, which is the thing to ask first.

What to Know

The hotel charges $50 a night for a dog and gives back a real welcome — a bed, bowls and kibble at check-in, extra supplies on request, a published guide to local dog-friendly trails and off-leash parks, and a resident hotel dog of its own — but the published policy stops short of the basics: no weight limit, no dog count, and no statement at all about whether a dog may be left in the room, while its own guest-services page describes the welcome as being for "small pets" without saying what that means. What is published is where a dog cannot go, and it is a long list for a resort: every hotel restaurant, the Health Club pool deck and the Fairmont Gold Lounge, with no patio carve-out named — so on a mountain whose lifts publish nothing for a pet dog, and with no sitting service offered, the dog-excluded hours need a plan the hotel does not supply. Season and setting complete the picture: Lost Lake, which the hotel's own hike guide calls steps away, is closed to dogs from roughly mid-December to the end of March, Whistler has a documented coyote presence with a nine-pound dog seriously injured in a Whistler neighbourhood in 2023, and there is no 24-hour emergency animal hospital in Whistler — one clinic publishes an after-hours call line, and the nearest overnight hospital is roughly two hours down the highway.

Quick Facts

Property type
Mountain resort
Address
4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, BC V8E 0Z5
Review status
On the Inspection List
Policy status
To be verified
Best for
Mountain resort stays
Dog size focus
Small dogs (under 15 lb)
Last updated
August 4, 2026
Disclosure status
Independent — no partnership in place.

Official Pet Policy

We never invent policies. Unknown details are marked “To be verified.”

Pet fee
$50 per night — and the structure is the open question. The hotel's pet page says "an additional charge of $50 per room, per night," covering deep-cleaning services; its guest-services page says $50 per day plus applicable taxes. Neither hotel page names a cap, but a booking listing and a guest's published account both say the charge is capped at CA$100 per stay. Those do not agree, and on a five-night stay the difference is $250 against $100. Two conditional charges sit on top: a $75 removal fee if a dog is removed for excessive noise, plus any refunds paid to disturbed guests, and liability for damage beyond normal wear and tear. Get the all-in figure in writing for a named room and a named number of nights. (Read August 4, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Weight limit
Not stated as a number, and the hotel's own pages do not agree with each other. Its pet page sets no size condition at all; its guest-services page opens "Fairmont Chateau Whistler welcomes small pets for a rate of $50.00 plus applicable taxes per day" — a size word with no threshold behind it. Two booking listings say pets of any size are accepted. Nothing published resolves it, and no number appears anywhere on the hotel's site. At a very small dog's scale this is unlikely to bite, but it is genuinely unresolved on the property's own site, so if your dog is larger get the limit in writing before you book. (Read from the hotel's own website on August 4, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Number of dogs
Not published. The hotel states no maximum anywhere on its own pages, and never says whether cats are permitted at all — its wording is "your dog" throughout. The only number available is an inference from a third party: a booking listing records the charge as CA$50 per pet, per night, capped at CA$100 per stay, which would imply two. The hotel's own wording is "per room, per night" with no cap, so the inference and the published text do not agree. Treat the count as unconfirmed and get it in writing, especially if you are travelling with more than one dog. (Read August 4, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Breed restrictions
None stated. No breed condition appears on any of the hotel's pages. What it imposes instead is behavioural and financial: dogs must be leashed throughout the village, a $75 removal fee applies if a dog is removed for excessive noise, any refunds paid to disturbed guests are charged to the pet owner's room, and guests are liable for damage beyond normal wear and tear. Service dogs are stated to be welcome on the property free of charge. (Read August 4, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Can dogs be left alone?
Not stated — and this is the largest gap on the page. The hotel publishes no permission, no prohibition, no crate condition and no requirement to leave a contact number. What it does publish is a $75 charge if a dog is removed for excessive noise, which implies the situation arises but settles nothing. It matters more here than at a city hotel: every restaurant on the property is closed to dogs, the pool deck and the Fairmont Gold Lounge are closed, the mountain publishes no access for a pet dog, and the hotel offers no pet-sitting or dog-walking of its own — so the hours a dog cannot join you are long and the default is unknown. Ask before booking and get the answer in writing. One nearby rule is settled and is a different question: a dog may not be tethered and left unattended anywhere in Whistler, which is about outdoors, not about your room.
Dog amenities
Published and specific: the Comfort Pet Amenity at check-in — "a comfy dog bed, water/food bowl, and a selection of FirstMate kibble" — with extra supplies including baggies and additional beds available through Royal Service by dialling 0. The hotel also keeps a resident dog of its own, Archie, adopted from a local shelter and given a pet-ambassador role, with a weekly guest meet-and-greet run through its experience guides; worth knowing before you arrive if your dog is very small, since he is a full-grown shepherd-retriever. Unusually for this guide, the hotel publishes local dog resources rather than only its own rules: off-leash parks open 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., a pet shop in Function Junction, a veterinary clinic in Creekside, and its own guide to dog-friendly trails near the property. What is not published is whether the bed, the bowl or the kibble comes in a size suited to a five-pound dog — or whether the hotel arranges any pet-sitting or dog-walking at all. It publishes none.
Dining / patio access
Closed, and the hotel says so without qualification: pets are not allowed in any of the hotel restaurants, on the Health Club pool deck, or in the Fairmont Gold Lounge. Note that "any of the hotel restaurants" carves out no patio, and the one outlet with a named patio is the golf clubhouse, open April to October. British Columbia keeps pet dogs out of indoor dining rooms, so that part is not something a venue could waive. An outdoor terrace is a different question: the province allows it, but only where the venue has set one up — an approved sanitation plan, no food or drink prepared on the terrace, and a way in by which the dog reaches the table without crossing an indoor room. This hotel has published the opposite of setting one up. Whistler Blackcomb's own dog page says dogs are not permitted on restaurant patios in the resort either, while one guest's published account describes sitting outside with a dog at the hotel's casual market outlet — so ask that outlet directly rather than assuming. In-room dining and that outlet's take-out counter are the two options that need nobody's permission.
Restricted areas
Dogs are excluded from every hotel restaurant, from the Health Club pool deck and from the Fairmont Gold Lounge, and pets are not allowed in the Fairmont Gold Penthouse Suites — the only published statement anywhere about which accommodation a dog may occupy. Treat the lap pool, the indoor and outdoor leisure pools, the whirlpools, the spa and the fitness centre as closed too; no rule is published for them, so that is ordinary convention plus one published deck exclusion. Lobby, corridor and elevator access is unconfirmed. Whether a dog may ride the hotel shuttle or the courtesy SUV, leashed or in a carrier, is not published at all. The largest boundary is the mountain the hotel opens onto: Whistler Blackcomb's own published answer covers guide and service dogs only, so there is no published way for a pet dog onto the gondolas or lifts, and dogs are barred from the Whistler and Blackcomb mountain trails, the Rainbow alpine trails, Skywalk and the provincial parks. One seasonal closure is worth planning around: Lost Lake Park, the nearest off-leash area and dog beach, is closed to dogs during winter nordic operations, roughly mid-December to the end of March.
Source / date verified
The hotel publishes a pet page and this page is built on it: its pet-friendly, guest-services, hotel-info, dining, outlet, resident-dog and dog-friendly-hikes pages were read on August 4, 2026, along with an Accor release about the brand's resident-dog programme. Two booking listings and one personal travel blog were read for corroboration only and are treated as third-party accounts rather than as policy — they conflict with the hotel's own wording on the fee structure and on outdoor seating, and those conflicts are recorded here rather than resolved. British Columbia's food rules and the province's own published position on dogs in outdoor dining areas were read from the primary texts the same day. The wildlife, trail, seasonal and veterinary facts come from Whistler Blackcomb, Tourism Whistler, the operator of the Lost Lake nordic trails, Whistler Olympic Park, three Sea-to-Sky veterinary practices and a news report, all read the same day; the Resort Municipality of Whistler's own pages could not be loaded, so municipal rules here come from the hotel and from local secondary sources and are flagged as such. No contact has been made with the hotel or its restaurants: nothing here has been confirmed with a person, which is why the policy status remains "To be verified."

On the inspection list

A full small-dog review of this property is planned. Join the newsletter to be notified when Cheerio's verdict is published.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Fairmont Chateau Whistler allow dogs, and is there a weight limit?

Yes — the hotel runs a published dog programme and welcomes dogs for $50 a night, with a bed, bowls and kibble waiting at check-in. On a weight limit it is less clear than it should be: the pet page sets no size condition at all, but the hotel's own guest-services page describes the welcome as being for "small pets" without saying what that means, and two booking listings say pets of any size are accepted. Nothing published resolves it, and no threshold appears anywhere on the hotel's site. At five pounds this is very unlikely to be a problem, but nobody has confirmed it with the hotel, so if your dog is larger, get the limit in writing before you book. The hotel also publishes no maximum number of dogs.

What is Fairmont Chateau Whistler's pet fee — per night or per stay?

Per night: the hotel's own page says $50 per room, per night, covering deep cleaning, and its guest-services page says $50 per day plus tax. Neither hotel page mentions a cap, but two third-party sources — a booking listing and a guest's account — say the charge is capped at CA$100 per stay. Those do not agree, and the difference on a five-night stay is $250 versus $100. Budget for two conditional charges on top: a $75 removal fee if a dog is removed for excessive noise, plus any refunds paid to disturbed guests, and liability for damage beyond normal wear and tear. Ask for the all-in figure in writing at booking.

Can I leave my dog alone in the room at Fairmont Chateau Whistler?

The hotel doesn't say — and that silence is the single biggest gap on this page. There is no published permission, no prohibition, no crate condition and no requirement to leave a contact number. What is published is a $75 charge if a dog is removed for excessive noise, which implies the situation arises but settles nothing. This matters more here than at a city hotel, because every restaurant on the property is closed to dogs, the pool deck and the Fairmont Gold Lounge are closed, the mountain publishes no access for a pet dog, and the hotel offers no pet-sitting or dog-walking of its own. Ask before you book, get the answer in writing, and ask in the same call whether anyone local can sit with the dog. One nearby rule is settled and is a different question: dogs may not be tethered and left unattended anywhere in Whistler, which is about outdoors, not about your room.

Where exactly can my dog go at Fairmont Chateau Whistler?

Your room, the grounds and the village on a leash — and the hotel is unusually direct about where a dog cannot go. Its own pet page excludes dogs from any of the hotel restaurants, the Health Club pool deck and the Fairmont Gold Lounge, and its guest-services page adds that pets are not allowed in the Fairmont Gold Penthouse Suites. Note that "any of the hotel restaurants" is unqualified — no patio is carved out, the one named patio is at the golf clubhouse and runs April to October, and Whistler Blackcomb's own dog page says dogs are not permitted on restaurant patios in the resort either; one guest blog reports otherwise at the hotel's casual market outlet, so ask the outlet directly rather than assuming. Treat the pools, whirlpools, spa and fitness centre as excluded. Whether a dog may ride the hotel shuttle or courtesy SUV is not published at all. And the biggest boundary is the mountain the hotel opens onto: Whistler Blackcomb's own answer covers guide and service dogs only, and there is no published way for a pet dog onto the lifts.

Where does my dog relieve itself at Fairmont Chateau Whistler?

The hotel publishes no dedicated relief area, though a guest reports bag stations and bear-proof bins around the property. What the hotel does publish, unusually, is the local picture: dogs must be leashed throughout the village, and off-leash areas are open 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. The nearest is Canine Cove at Lost Lake, which the hotel's own hiking guide places steps away via the Valley Trail. The seasonal qualification is the important part, and the hotel's guide does not mention it: Lost Lake Park is closed to dogs during winter nordic operations, roughly mid-December to the end of March, when it becomes ticketed cross-country trails. The municipal rules quoted here come from the hotel and from local guides rather than from the municipality's own page, which we could not load, so treat them as reliable in outline and confirm the detail. Ask the concierge for the route they recommend for the month you are there.

What do I do with my dog during dinner, the spa, or a day on the mountain at Fairmont Chateau Whistler?

Plan this before you book, because the hotel publishes no answer to it. Dogs are excluded from every restaurant on the property, from the Health Club pool deck and from the Fairmont Gold Lounge, and there is no published access for a pet dog on the lifts — so a dinner out, a spa afternoon and a ski day all need somewhere for the dog to be. The hotel offers no pet-sitting and no dog-walking; its Royal Service line supplies baggies and extra beds, not supervision, and the local pet shop it recommends sells food and toys. Because the hotel also never says whether a dog may be left in the room, you cannot even assume the default. In-room dining and takeaway from the hotel's casual market outlet are the two options that need nobody's permission. Ask the hotel directly what guests with dogs actually do, and line up a local sitter yourself before you arrive.

Is the environment at Fairmont Chateau Whistler safe for a very small dog?

It needs managing rather than avoiding, and the risks are specific rather than general. Whistler has a documented coyote presence in residential areas: in June 2023 two coyotes attacked a nine-pound miniature dachshund in a Whistler neighbourhood, causing neck wounds and a suspected punctured trachea and roughly $5,000 in treatment, and the conservation officer's advice was strict leash control, with the observation that small dogs may be viewed as prey. Bears are present in and around the valley, and the hotel's own hiking guide flags one of its recommended trails as grizzly habitat. The practical consequence at five pounds is leashed, close, and never left outside or tethered — which is also the local rule. Sharpening all of it: there is no 24-hour emergency animal hospital in Whistler — the corridor's dedicated after-hours clinic closed permanently, one valley clinic publishes an after-hours emergency call line, and the nearest overnight hospital is roughly two hours down the highway. On terrain, groomed snow and the paved Valley Trail are manageable; deep or crusted snow, and the 5 to 11 km trails the hotel itself recommends, are not at this size.

Join the Cheerio Checks In Newsletter

Get periodic updates on hotel verdicts, patio notes, destination intelligence, and more from Cheerio himself as he travels to new and exciting places.

By subscribing, you agree to receive emails from Cheerio Checks In. You can unsubscribe anytime.

Having trouble? Join directly here.