Montreal, Quebec
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Two pets per room, each to 22.6 kg, on a flat $150 non-refundable fee per stay — no cleaning charge published, where the Toronto Ritz-Carlton lists $150–450. Quebec closes every indoor dining room to pet dogs, so Maison Boulud and tea at the Palm Court are out, and nothing is published about leaving a dog alone.

What to Know
The Ritz-Carlton publishes its pet policy plainly and in one place — up to two pets per room, each allowed up to 22.6 kg, on a single non-refundable fee of $150 per stay, with no separate cleaning charge listed and no breed restriction stated. The 22.6 kg (about 50 lb) allowance is a per-pet ceiling for dogs in general, not a small-dog provision: nothing published scales to a five-pound animal — no small-dog bedding, no reduced fee, no in-room relief option — and a hotel that sets its bar at 50 lb per pet is set up for dogs broadly rather than tailored to a teacup. The two gaps that shape a stay are that the hotel says nothing at all about whether a dog may be left alone in the room, and that Quebec law closes every indoor eating area to pet dogs with no low-risk-food exception — so Maison Boulud's dining room and afternoon tea at the Palm Court are unavailable, the terrace requires the restaurant's own authorisation, and the nearest off-leash dog run shuts at 11 p.m.
Quick Facts
- Property type
- Historic luxury hotel
- Address
- 1228 Sherbrooke Street West, Montréal, QC H3G 1H6
- Review status
- On the Inspection List
- Policy status
- To be verified
- Best for
- Refined city stays
- Dog size focus
- Small dogs (under 15 lb)
- Last updated
- August 3, 2026
- Disclosure status
- Independent — no partnership in place.
Official Pet Policy
We never invent policies. Unknown details are marked “To be verified.”
- Pet fee
- A non-refundable pet fee of $150.00 per stay — the hotel's wording is "A non-refundable pet fee of $150.00 per stay applies." Per stay, not per night, and no separate cleaning fee is published, where the Ritz-Carlton Toronto lists an additional $150–450 per stay by room type. The page does not state the currency; CAD is the reasonable reading for a Montréal property but is not confirmed. Ask for the all-in figure in writing at booking. (Hotel website, August 3, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
- Weight limit
- 22.6 kg (about 50 lb) per pet, not per room — the hotel's wording is "Each pet may weigh up to 22.6 kgs," so two pets are allowed 22.6 kg each. Far more than a very small dog needs, and a general-dog ceiling rather than a small-dog provision. (Hotel website, August 3, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
- Number of dogs
- Up to 2 pets per room, each with its own 22.6 kg allowance. (Hotel website, August 3, 2026.)
- Breed restrictions
- None stated. The published policy names no breed restriction, and — unlike the Ritz-Carlton Toronto, which limits pets to cats and dogs — no species restriction either; it refers only to "pets." Separately, the hotel states that service animals are welcome without fees or documentation. (Hotel website, August 3, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
- Can dogs be left alone?
- Not stated — and this is the largest gap in the hotel's published policy. Nothing on its pages addresses unattended pets, an in-room sitter, or daycare, so there is no answer here to rely on in either direction. Confirm directly before booking: with the spa, the saltwater pool, the fitness centre and both indoor dining rooms closed or presumed closed to a pet dog, this is the fact that decides how a day here is planned.
- Dog amenities
- Not stated. The hotel publishes no dog bed, bowl, treat or turndown amenity, and none should be assumed. Worth asking specifically whether anything provided is scaled to a very small dog — a standard hotel dog bed is furniture to a five-pound one.
- Dining / patio access
- Indoors is closed to pet dogs at both venues, on the law rather than on preference — and Quebec is stricter than Ontario here. Quebec law requires food premises to be free of animals and lets only a dog compensating for a handicap into the areas served by the public, with no low-risk-food exception of the kind Ontario has — so Maison Boulud's dining room and The Palm Court, including afternoon tea and the Champagne Bar, are both out, and it is not something a venue can waive. Outdoor terraces are a different question: Quebec does allow a dog in an outdoor service area, but only if the venue itself authorises it. Maison Boulud has a terrace overlooking Sherbrooke Street, so a welcome there is possible — but it is the restaurant's to give, and neither the hotel nor the restaurant publishes anything about dogs. Ask the restaurant directly rather than assuming a Quebec terrace is open. In-room dining runs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and is the option that needs nobody's permission.
- Restricted areas
- Not published — the hotel states no area restrictions at all beyond the policy itself. Both indoor dining rooms are closed to pet dogs under Quebec law. Treat Spa St. James, the indoor saltwater pool and its terrace, and the fitness centre as closed until told otherwise: that is ordinary convention rather than any rule we have read. Lobby, corridor and elevator access is unconfirmed, as is anything about the valet and the Sherbrooke Street entrance. Whether a dog may be left alone in the room is also unstated. Separately, the property is historically associated with Le Jardin du Ritz, a garden terrace with a duck pond; it does not appear on the hotel's current pages and we could not confirm it still operates — worth asking about, because an ornamental pond and resident waterfowl are a real environment question at five-pound scale.
- Source / date verified
- The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal official website — pet policy and hotel information, read August 3, 2026. Quebec's food-premises law was read from the primary legal text the same day, and the city's dog rules and the Parc Percy-Walters dog-run listing come from the City of Montréal's own pages. No contact has been made with the hotel or either restaurant: nothing here has been confirmed with a person, which is why the policy status remains "To be verified."
On the inspection list
A full small-dog review of this property is planned. Join the newsletter to be notified when Cheerio's verdict is published.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal allow dogs, and is there a weight limit?
Yes — up to two pets per room, each allowed up to 22.6 kg (about 50 lb), stated per pet rather than per room, so the allowance is generous for a very small dog. No breed restriction is published. Separately, the hotel states that service animals are welcome without fees or documentation. These figures come from the hotel's own website, read 3 August 2026, and haven't been confirmed with a person.
What is The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal's pet fee — per night or per stay?
Per stay: the hotel lists a single non-refundable pet fee of $150.00 per stay, and publishes no separate cleaning charge alongside it. It doesn't state the currency, though CAD is the reasonable reading for a Montréal property. Worth confirming both the currency and that nothing further is added at checkout when you book.
Can I leave my dog alone in the room at The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal?
The hotel hasn't stated this, and it's the most important thing it hasn't stated. Nothing on its pages addresses unattended pets, an in-room sitter, or daycare — so there's no answer here to rely on, in either direction. Confirm it directly before booking, because with the spa, saltwater pool, fitness centre and both indoor dining rooms closed or presumed closed to a pet dog, the answer shapes the whole day.
Where exactly can my dog go at The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal?
The hotel publishes no access map at all, so most of this is unconfirmed. What is settled is the law: Quebec keeps pet dogs out of indoor eating areas with no exception, so Maison Boulud's dining room and the Palm Court — including afternoon tea — are closed to your dog, service animals aside. Maison Boulud has a terrace on Sherbrooke Street, but in Quebec an outdoor welcome requires the restaurant's own authorisation, and we haven't established that it's given. Treat the spa, pool and fitness centre as excluded, and ask about the lobby, which the hotel doesn't address.
Where does my dog relieve itself at The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal?
The hotel publishes no relief area, and we haven't walked the route. In Montréal a dog must be on a leash of no more than 1.85 m in public, and dog runs are the only public places a dog may be off leash — the nearest is Parc Percy-Walters at 40 Avenue McGregor, roughly 500–600 m away and up the slope toward Mount Royal, open 07:00 to 23:00. That means an early-morning or late-night trip is a Sherbrooke Street sidewalk walk, not a park visit. Ask the concierge for the route they actually recommend.
What do I do with my dog during dinner, the spa, or time out at The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal?
This is the property's open question. The dog-excluded hours are real — Quebec law closes both indoor dining rooms, and the spa, saltwater pool and fitness centre are excluded by ordinary convention — but the hotel neither says whether a dog may be left in the room nor names a sitter or daycare. The one option it clearly does offer is 24-hour in-room dining. The Maison Boulud terrace may be a second, if the restaurant authorises it. Anything beyond that needs arranging yourself, in advance.
Join the Cheerio Checks In Newsletter
Get periodic updates on hotel verdicts, patio notes, destination intelligence, and more from Cheerio himself as he travels to new and exciting places.
By subscribing, you agree to receive emails from Cheerio Checks In. You can unsubscribe anytime.
Having trouble? Join directly here.