← Luxury Hotel Guide

Toronto, Ontario

Shangri-La Toronto

Research summary — no rating

The hotel publishes only that pets are welcome for a fee — the $125 figure, the 50 lb ceiling and the one-pet limit all come from third-party listings, which contradict each other on whether the fee is charged per stay or per week and on whether a dog may be left in the room at all. Confirm every number directly.

What to Know

Shangri-La Toronto's own website says only that "pets are welcome for an additional fee" — no amount, no weight limit, no number of pets, no rule about leaving a dog alone — so every figure a reader will find elsewhere comes from third-party listings, and those listings contradict each other on the two facts that matter most: whether the $125 is charged per stay or per week, and whether a dog may be left in the room at all. Where they do agree, the picture is a general-dog setup rather than a small-dog one — a 50 lb ceiling, one pet per room rather than the two both Ritz-Carltons allow, and a standard hotel dog bed. Downtown geography does the rest: this is a tower with no grounds, so every relief trip is an elevator ride to a sidewalk, the nearest fenced off-leash park is close to a kilometre away, and the only outdoor table on the property is bosk's seasonal patio, which has said nothing about dogs and closes at the end of August.

Quick Facts

Property type
Urban luxury hotel
Address
188 University Avenue, Toronto, ON M5H 0A3
Review status
On the Inspection List
Policy status
To be verified
Best for
Downtown city stays
Dog size focus
Small dogs (under 15 lb)
Last updated
August 3, 2026
Disclosure status
Independent — no partnership in place.

Official Pet Policy

We never invent policies. Unknown details are marked “To be verified.”

Pet fee
Not published by the hotel as an amount — its entire stated position is "Pets are welcome for an additional fee." Three third-party listings all give $125 and then disagree on how it is charged: per accommodation "varies based on length of stay," per week, and a flat per stay. Those cannot all be right, and on a long stay the difference is real money. The currency is not stated either, though CAD is the reasonable reading for a Toronto property. Ask for a written all-in figure for your actual dates, and ask whether any cleaning charge or deposit exists beyond it. (Hotel website and three third-party listings, August 3, 2026 — nothing confirmed with the hotel.)
Weight limit
Not published by the hotel. Three separate third-party listings independently give 50 lb (about 22.7 kg) as the maximum per pet. They agree with each other, which is worth something, but none of them is the hotel speaking and none is dated or attributed. Ample for a very small dog if it holds, and a general-dog ceiling rather than a small-dog provision. Confirm it directly. (Third-party listings, August 3, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Number of dogs
Not published by the hotel. Three third-party listings give one pet per room — tighter than the two-per-room limit at both Ritz-Carltons in this guide. One adds that additional pets may be accepted with prior approval from management. Worth confirming directly if you travel with two dogs, because a single-dog limit is the kind of rule that is discovered at check-in. (Third-party listings, August 3, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Breed restrictions
Not published by the hotel, which names no breed and no species. One booking listing states "dogs and cats only" — a species restriction rather than a breed one. Unconfirmed. Separately, the same listing notes that service animals are exempt from pet fees, which is a different question from a pet dog's. (Third-party listing, August 3, 2026 — not confirmed with the hotel.)
Can dogs be left alone?
Unresolved, and this is the largest gap on the entry. The hotel says nothing about it at all, and the two dog-travel directories that do cover it directly contradict each other — one states pets may not be left unattended in rooms, the other states dogs may be left unattended. Both cannot be true, so treat this as unknown rather than as a probably-yes. Settle it in writing before booking: with the spa, indoor pool, gym and all three indoor restaurants closed or presumed closed to a pet dog, this is the fact that decides how a day here is planned.
Dog amenities
Not published by the hotel. Third-party listings variously claim food and water bowls, a dog bed, and treats, bowls and beds available at the front desk. They are broadly consistent and none of them is the hotel's own statement, so none should be counted on. If a bed is provided, ask whether anything is scaled to a very small dog — a standard hotel dog bed is furniture to a five-pound one.
Dining / patio access
Indoors is closed to pet dogs at all three venues, on the law rather than on preference. Ontario keeps pet dogs out of indoor eating areas except at premises preparing only low-risk food, and bosk (Italian, lobby level), Mott 32 (Cantonese, spread over three floors with an open kitchen and a ground-floor bar and lounge) and the Lobby Lounge all run full kitchens and full menus — none is anywhere near that exception. The ground-floor lounge is not a different case from a dining room, though a reader may reasonably assume it is. Outdoors is a different question, and Ontario is more permissive here: a dog may be in an outdoor eating area as long as food is not prepared in that area, and the venue may still decline. Both halves of that land on bosk Patio, the property's one outdoor table, open to the end of August from noon to 9pm. bosk publishes nothing about dogs, so a welcome there is bosk's to give and has not been established. And bosk's own summer copy advertises chef-crafted pizzas from a live outdoor oven on that patio, which raises a genuine question about whether the outdoor allowance applies to it at all — that depends on where the oven sits relative to the seating, which we have not established and which is properly a question for the restaurant and for Toronto Public Health. Ask bosk directly rather than assuming. Service animals are covered by separate rules. 24-hour in-room dining is the option that needs nobody's permission.
Restricted areas
Not published — the hotel states no area restrictions at all beyond that one sentence about pets. All three indoor dining venues are closed to pet dogs under Ontario law. Treat Miraj Hammam Spa, the indoor pool and the health club as closed until told otherwise: that is ordinary convention rather than any rule we have read. Lobby, elevator and corridor access is unconfirmed, and on a tower this is not academic — the hotel occupies one of Toronto's tallest buildings, there are no grounds, and every relief trip is an elevator ride down to the street and back. Nothing is documented about dogs in the house car, the city shuttle or valet either. Whether a dog may be left alone in the room is also unstated.
Source / date verified
Shangri-La Toronto's official website — overview, about, services and dining pages, read August 3, 2026. Its complete published pet position is one sentence: "Pets are welcome for an additional fee." Every figure on this page therefore comes from third-party listings read the same day and is labelled as such; they agree on $125, 50 lb and one pet, and contradict each other on the fee structure and on unattended pets. bosk's own site, City of Toronto dog rules and the emergency-clinic details were also read August 3, 2026. No contact has been made with the hotel or with either restaurant: nothing here has been confirmed with a person, which is why the policy status remains "To be verified."

On the inspection list

A full small-dog review of this property is planned. Join the newsletter to be notified when Cheerio's verdict is published.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Shangri-La Toronto allow dogs, and is there a weight limit?

Yes, but the hotel's own website says only that "pets are welcome for an additional fee" — it publishes no weight limit at all. Three separate third-party listings put the limit at 50 lb (about 22.7 kg) per pet and cap it at one pet per room — tighter than the two-per-room limit at both Ritz-Carltons we have carded; one booking listing also restricts it to dogs and cats. Those figures agree with each other, which is worth something, but none of them is the hotel speaking and none is dated. Get the limit confirmed in writing when you book, especially if you are travelling with two dogs.

What is Shangri-La Toronto's pet fee — per night or per stay?

This is genuinely unresolved, and it is not a small difference. The hotel publishes no amount. Three third-party listings all say $125, but one describes it as charged per accommodation and varying with length of stay, another as per week, and a third as a flat per-stay charge — those cannot all be true, and on a week-long stay they are very different bills. The currency is not stated by the hotel either, though CAD is the reasonable reading for a Toronto property. Ask for an all-in written figure for your actual dates rather than a rate.

Can I leave my dog alone in the room at Shangri-La Toronto?

Nobody can tell you from published sources, and you should be suspicious of anyone who says otherwise. The hotel says nothing about it, and the two dog-travel directories that do cover it directly contradict each other — one states pets may not be left unattended, the other states they may. Treat this as unknown rather than as a probably-yes. It is the first thing to settle in writing, because with the spa, pool, gym and all three indoor restaurants closed or presumed closed to a pet dog, the answer decides how a whole day here works.

Where exactly can my dog go at Shangri-La Toronto?

The hotel publishes no access map, so most of this is unconfirmed. What is settled is the law: Ontario keeps pet dogs out of indoor eating areas except at premises serving only low-risk food, and bosk, Mott 32 and the Lobby Lounge all run full kitchens — so every indoor table on the property is closed to your dog, service animals aside. The one outdoor table is bosk's seasonal patio, open to the end of August, and it is doubly unresolved: bosk has never said whether it welcomes dogs, and its advertised live outdoor pizza oven raises a real question about whether the outdoor allowance applies there at all. Treat the spa, pool and gym as excluded, and ask about the lobby and elevators, which the hotel does not address.

Where does my dog relieve itself at Shangri-La Toronto?

There is no on-site relief area published, and this is a tower with no grounds, so every trip is an elevator ride down to the street. The guest entrance is on Simcoe Street, which is quieter than University Avenue — that is where an overnight walk realistically happens, on leash. The City requires dogs to be leashed in parks and permits off-leash only in designated areas; the nearest fenced off-leash area we found is at Grange Park, roughly 900 metres to a kilometre away, though that comes from the park's community site rather than the City's own list. We have not walked or timed the route from a guest floor. Ask the concierge what they actually recommend, and allow more time than a low-rise hotel would need.

What do I do with my dog during dinner, the spa, or time out at Shangri-La Toronto?

This is the property's open question, and right now it has no answer. The dog-excluded hours are real — the spa, indoor pool, gym and all three indoor restaurants are closed or presumed closed to a pet dog — but the hotel neither says whether a dog may be left in the room nor names a sitter or a daycare, and our sources disagree about the first of those. The options it clearly does offer are 24-hour in-room dining, and bosk's patio in warm months if bosk says yes. Anything beyond that needs arranging yourself, well in advance.

Join the Cheerio Checks In Newsletter

Get periodic updates on hotel verdicts, patio notes, destination intelligence, and more from Cheerio himself as he travels to new and exciting places.

By subscribing, you agree to receive emails from Cheerio Checks In. You can unsubscribe anytime.

Having trouble? Join directly here.